Looking Down

Everyone looks down. Women in particular look down to check their outfit throughout the day, to make sure they are not tripping over things, or even just to see how their shoes shine in the light. If you think about it, what we can see when we look down is the only time that we really see ourselves. Sure, we can check out our hair in a shop window or do our makeup in a mirror, but that’s just a reflection of ourselves – not our actual bodies. Looking down is also seeing your body as it truly is – not in the contorted ways that mirrors may twist it.

To play with this idea of body image, I shot my photos using a wide-angle lens. This allowed me to not only morph how the lower torso would look (as a mirror would) but also to get more of the scene or surrounding area in the shot. I documented both private and public moments that I had with myself, friends, and colleagues. The photos that result are a specific collection of how I see the world – not only what I see when I look around, but what the space looks like with me in it.

Elizabeth Haering

Elizabeth Haering

Elizabeth Haering

Elizabeth Haering

Elizabeth Haering

Elizabeth Haering

Elizabeth Haering

Elizabeth Haering

 

By Elizabeth Haering

Our readers sometimes send us cool things like artwork and personal stories. If you have something to share, send your piece to submissions@outloudmag.org and we might feature your piece.

